1 2 3 ... 20
asphalt_gundam
asphalt_gundam
6/15/20 4:31 p.m.

Hello everyone,

This is my 1985 Oldsmobile Cutlass that I've been building to track and street drive for the last 2 years. I'm a little over a year since my first autocross and track day shortly after that. This car has come from a prep'd engine and rear disc brakes on stock suspension to chassis stiffening, roll cage, big brakes, wide tires and overall about less than 5% original.  It has been a struggle finding the right direction to go with chassis setup and picking parts that work at a reasonable price. Since there is really a chasm between drag racing a circle track that road racing falls into for this chassis I'm posting what I have done in hopes of helping out others who want to be unconventional at the track and love these cars as much as I do.

The cars current setup is a budget build....of sorts. Utilizing circle track parts over Pro Touring type parts.

Quick run down:

Stock chassis that has been: Boxed, second "inner" frame tube added, suspension pickup points doubled and gusseted, rear frame notch (for future, wider tires), cross braces at front, rear shocks, and rear of frame. 6 pt roll cage setup for easy in and out street use.

Suspension: Bilstien shocks, AFCO springs, poly front lower control arm bushings, Speedway low friction ball joints +1" lower - +1/2" upper, AFCO upper control arms (both right side 8"), RideTech rear control arms (full spherical bearing), QA1 sway bars, custom adjustable mount holes for rear lower and front upper, bump steer kit, fast ratio steering box

Brakes: Front - Stoptech cryo treated Corvette rotors, Outlaw disc brake staggered 4 piston calipers, Wilwood BP-20 pads, modified stock spindle and custom brackets. Rear - generic rear disc conversion with late 70's Cadillac metric caliper with parking brake on 11.75 rotor and Wilwood BP-10 pads. Wilwood 1-1/8" master cylinder with brake bias adjuster