1 2
Otto Maddox
Otto Maddox Dork
9/19/11 1:26 p.m.

I hit a pothole going 35 mph. My wife's Honda Pilot hardly registered a bump when I've hit the same pothole. These wheels were bought new less than two years ago.

mndsm
mndsm SuperDork
9/19/11 1:27 p.m.

Was it a Rota?

/trolling, I actually have Rotas on my ms3. They're awesome for what they are.

element6
element6 New Reader
9/19/11 1:32 p.m.

holy crap that's not good.

imirk
imirk Reader
9/19/11 1:37 p.m.

so did the force exerted outward on the rim by the sidewall of the tire cause the barrel of the rim to tear? seems kind of like a fatigue type failure

4cylndrfury
4cylndrfury SuperDork
9/19/11 1:46 p.m.

agreed with imirk...Aluminum alloys fracture catastrophically when fatigued. Typically, mfrs add silicon to aluminum to alloy it for fatigue resistance. Silicon is expensive. Maybe if thats a cheap wheel, the mfr saved some bucks using a cheap alloy? Im not an engineer, but I break things a lot, so I learn as I go lol

Otto Maddox
Otto Maddox Dork
9/19/11 1:54 p.m.

In reply to 4cylndrfury:

They are MSW wheels. Not exactly BBS, but I don't think of them as cheap. In any case, I expected a little more from them. I've seen OEM wheels practically bend into an oval without breaking.

pilotbraden
pilotbraden HalfDork
9/19/11 1:57 p.m.

What size tire is on there?

Per Schroeder
Per Schroeder Technical Editor/Advertising Director
9/19/11 1:58 p.m.

Since The Tire Rack is the importer of those, I'd at least send them a picture of the wheel asking if they'd seen a failure like that before.

Per

Otto Maddox
Otto Maddox Dork
9/19/11 2:01 p.m.

245/35/19 Yokohama tires. The tire appears undamaged but I have no way of knowing.

Otto Maddox
Otto Maddox Dork
9/19/11 2:02 p.m.

In reply to Per Schroeder:

I've got my tire rack receipt right in front of me. I got a good deal on them because they were being discontinued. But of course, that means no replacements are readily available.

imirk
imirk Reader
9/19/11 2:09 p.m.