1 2
Tim Suddard
Tim Suddard Publisher
10/25/23 12:32 p.m.

As with so many of us, in my earlier years it was all about power: How much engine could I stuff into how little of a chassis? It was all in a quest to see how fast I could go.

At one time, a flyweight Triumph Spitfire with a 240-horsepower rotary that would hit 60 in about 4 seconds sounded …

Read the rest of the story

JG Pasterjak
JG Pasterjak Production/Art Director
10/25/23 12:38 p.m.

False dichotomy.

Fast car fast :)

Woody (Forum Supportum)
Woody (Forum Supportum) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
10/25/23 12:40 p.m.

Slow car fast. 

codrus (Forum Supporter)
codrus (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand PowerDork
10/25/23 1:21 p.m.
benclear said:

I don't understand how racing a slow car fast could possibly be beneficial, but I am new to racing. 

I'm not sure if this is what Tim was intending, but one way to interpret the question has to do with the structure of most club racing groups.  SCCA, NASA, etc, we usually have way more classes than we do groups, so each race group is made up of multiple classes.  The org tries to be smart about how they do the grouping and put similar cars together, but sometimes (especially in endurance racing) there can be some pretty big speed disparities between classes.

So if you were racing the NASA 25 hours of Thunderhill, would you rather be driving a Spec Miata or one of the sports racer/prototypes?  Getting passed 5-10 times per lap, or passing other cars a similar amount?  Is it better to be in the Miata that's leading the E3 class, or a prototype that's further down the field in its class but much higher in overall position than the Miata?

msterbee
msterbee Reader
10/25/23 1:27 p.m.

Yes. 

Tom1200
Tom1200 PowerDork
10/25/23 1:55 p.m.
JG Pasterjak said:

False dichotomy.

Fast car fast :)

I whole heartedly disagree see the long winded post that follows this one.

bmw88rider
bmw88rider GRM+ Memberand UberDork
10/25/23 2:21 p.m.