dkreindler
dkreindler
9/5/08 5:03 p.m.

I'm hopefully competing in my first auto-x next weekend. Any tips/advice for a total newb?

Tim Baxter
Tim Baxter Online Editor
9/5/08 5:10 p.m.

First, acknowledge that you will suck. It's OK. Everyone does when they start, and acknowledging your own suckiness ahead of time makes it much easier on your ego.

Walk the course. A lot. Figure out where you need to be going, so you're not trying to figure it out while you're driving.

Concentrate on running clean and driving well. Speed will come in time.

And remember at some point you'll probably want to shift. Some new guys seem to forget that.

JohnGalt
JohnGalt New Reader
9/5/08 5:18 p.m.

I just did my first last weekend and it was a blast and got spanked but i had a blast and got two of my friends who had never really heard about auto X addicted.

Salanis
Salanis Dork
9/5/08 5:22 p.m.

HAVE FUN!

There are online resources on what you'll need to prep yourself and your car. Look some up. The three things you'll likely underestimate your need of:

For the Car: Air in the tires.

For you: Water, Sunscreen, maybe a big dorky shade hat, and more water.

Have fun. If you can, try to find an old hand who can walk the course with you, ride along and give tips, and let you ride with them to see how it's done. Showing up early to help set up is good karma.

Oh, and most importantly: HAVE FUN!

P.S. Welcome to the board! What kind of car will you be driving?

jr02518
jr02518 New Reader
9/5/08 5:31 p.m.

Get to the event with your tires at 45 at both ends.

Im sure the board will help with what to run at the event.

Storz
Storz HalfDork
9/5/08 5:35 p.m.

Welcome to the addiction

mtn
mtn Dork
9/5/08 5:36 p.m.

Walk the course. A LOT. My dad has been to 5 autocrosses, I have been to 4. And I have beat him significantly each time even though he has more experience, because I will walk the course about twice as much as him (or maybe because its his money if the car breaks)

dkreindler