Peanu_Keeyes
Peanu_Keeyes GRM+ Memberand New Reader
9/16/23 12:26 a.m.

I love my NA8 Miata track car. It is glorious and takes one hell of a beating as we all know they're capable of doing. I appreciate the low hp, high revving 4 banger and light weight chassis and as a BMW fanboy on the side, it got me thinking... did BMW also make this engine for the E30? I quickly found my answer in the form of the 318is. Or at least it sure appears that way on paper. --Forgive me if this has been a frequent topic in the past, I'm a newbie. -- Both the 318is and the NA8  Miata have a 1.8L 130ish hp engine and are in the low to mid 2000lbs range depending.

The Spec E30 is the easy button for a well setup car with that chassis but I haven't seen much on the 318 as an alternative. Probably due to its short production run. Who has experience with the M42 on track? is it a comparable experience to a Miata or apples to oranges?

These cars are still (relatively) affordable for a classic BMW if not in immaculate condition while Miata prices are quickly catching up to cars in that segment. Is now the time to build a 318is? 

I have the M42 in my E36.  I don't believe the E30 318is was that much lighter (I thought they were both 2600ish pounds), and my car  does just enough to stay in it's own way.

I chipped mine, and it makes a little difference, but not a lot.  And requires 91 octane, which hurts a little these days.

The Miata feels peppier by a piece, but I have an NB1, which I thought was 100lb lighter than the NB2 cars.  My car runs the MSM cam and the adjustable timing wheel, so equivalent to chipping the E36, but improvement for improvement, I think the Miata responds better.

If you're going to do an E30, I'd pick a six cylinder e car and chip it before I'd do a 318is.  I had a 325es, and those had a little higher rev limit than the standard e, and it was better to drive than the E36 is.

No track experience with any of them, though.

stuart in mn
stuart in mn MegaDork