drock25too
drock25too GRM+ Memberand Reader
11/20/20 2:59 p.m.

My son just asked me about a 1.6 VTEC with a BMXA* four speed.  I don't know jack about Honda performance. Is there any potential here? What about reliability? What's it worth?

Thanks. 

79rex
79rex Reader
11/20/20 3:15 p.m.

as far as reliability goes.  youll have to change the oil once in a while.  otherwise itll take a beating and keep ticking

bobzilla
bobzilla MegaDork
11/20/20 3:18 p.m.
79rex said:

as far as reliability goes.  youll have to change the oil once in a while.  otherwise itll take a beating and keep ticking

and a timing belt every decade. Distributors are getting hard to find though but there are new options to go COP

Sonic
Sonic UltraDork
11/20/20 3:28 p.m.

Ive been playing with Honda for 20 years now.  The only 4 speed since 1988 was terrible on a base model and never came with VTEC.  In general they are reliable, efficient, easy to work on, and can be powerful.  Some older parts are getting a little hard to find but swapping nearly anything is well documented and supported.  

drock25too
11/20/20 3:46 p.m.
Sonic said:

Ive been playing with Honda for 20 years now.  The only 4 speed since 1988 was terrible on a base model and never came with VTEC.  In general they are reliable, efficient, easy to work on, and can be powerful.  Some older parts are getting a little hard to find but swapping nearly anything is well documented and supported.  

He said the guy told him it was a "racing transmission". Didn't know if he was just talking it up to try and make a sale. 

steronz
steronz Reader
11/20/20 4:04 p.m.

The BMXA is the 4-speed auto in 01-05 Civics, I don't know that anyone has ever used one for racing.

Pete. (l33t FS)
Pete. (l33t FS) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
11/20/20 5:49 p.m.