secretariata
secretariata GRM+ Memberand HalfDork
3/27/15 12:02 a.m.

Anybody else wish FFR would make a mid-year ('63-'67 or C2) corvette coupe replica? I have been lusting after a mid-year for the past 30+ years and will never own a real one. Based on FFR's other products they could improve the performance and offer engine choices that include SBC, BBC, or LSx for a reasonable price.

Sorry, but I was watching/listening to Cobra videos earlier and it got me thinking...

Gearheadotaku
Gearheadotaku GRM+ Memberand PowerDork
3/27/15 8:29 a.m.

interesting, but by the time you're done it's still gonna cost you 30 grand.

HappyAndy
HappyAndy UltraDork
3/27/15 8:34 a.m.

Aren't there already a few kits on the market for C2 Grand Sport replicas based on C3 or C4 chassis?

I know that's not exactly what the OP is asking for, but its on the infield of the same ballpark, especially if its C4 based.

stuart in mn
stuart in mn PowerDork
3/27/15 8:43 a.m.

There are several places building reproduction bodies, and you can get a modern chassis that will accept an LS engine - it just takes money.

DeadSkunk
DeadSkunk UltraDork
3/27/15 8:52 a.m.

I went to the auction in Auburn last year and saw more than one C2 Vette cross the block for under $45K. They were driver quality, not trailer queens.Any of the kits will cost close to that I would think.

Adrian_Thompson
Adrian_Thompson UltimaDork
3/27/15 9:02 a.m.

I bet a Corvette replica would be a whole lot more expensive to finish properly than a Cobra. A Cobra is a very simple car. Virtually no interior panels, no or very basic top, minimal exterior ornamentation, flat panel for a dash, no side window glass or winders, basic seats etc etc. Just go and add up the cost of parts to re-finish a C2 interior and I'll bet you could spend $10K just on that.

I'll bet it's cheaper to do a full restoration an a $5K C2 than to build a replica. they aren't exactly rare to begin with.