1 2
HoserRacing
HoserRacing HalfDork
3/10/18 9:19 p.m.

I'm planning on getting a car for my son to learn to drive with and I need some input.  My dd is a company car, so he can't use that.  My wife drives a minivan and my vehicle is a crew cab long bed 3/4 4wd truck that I love, so it's out.  We live in the mountains, and have a steep gravel driveway.  I don't want to have to be scraping the driveway every other week until he learns how to drive on gravel, so I'm looking for something AWD to help compensate.  I'd like something that's a little cool, but primarily safe, reliable, and hopefully not crazy on insurance.  I'm trying to stay in the $5k range, and I've found some options that I have no experience with.  BMW Xi 3 series, X3, Audi A4 Quattro, A6 Quattro, CRV, RAV4, Subaru Baja, Subaru Impreza, what other options do y'all recommend?  What issues have y'all seen, what do I need to look out for, what should I just flat out avoid?  

dean1484
dean1484 GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
3/10/18 9:42 p.m.

Who is paying for maintenance and upkeep?  All the German stuff will need more of it and cost more to do.  

GTwannaB
GTwannaB GRM+ Memberand HalfDork
3/10/18 11:11 p.m.

Suzuki SX4. Volvo S40 and V50. Lancer SE has an awd. Plenty of small awd pickups. 

smokindav
smokindav Reader
3/11/18 6:30 a.m.

Subaru (stop wasting our time :)

spitfirebill
spitfirebill MegaDork
3/11/18 6:53 a.m.

Honda CR-V.  

Feedyurhed
Feedyurhed SuperDork
3/11/18 7:11 a.m.
smokindav said:

Subaru (stop wasting our time :)

This>^^^^^  I bought an Impreza for my son as his first car and it was completely reliable and with out faults. He drove it for four years in college and then another two afterwards until he got a good job. Sold it to a friend and it's still going strong. Now I did purchase it new and we took good care of it but isn't that what you should do anyway? I am on my 5th Subaru (all WRX/STi) and they are still my car of choice. 

HoserRacing
HoserRacing HalfDork
3/11/18 7:28 a.m.