1 2
Keith Tanner
Keith Tanner GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
10/20/23 11:58 a.m.

I'm hosting a discussion panel of six of the Miata's originators tomorrow. What questions would you have for them?

https://miatareunion.com/#meet-original-design-team

It'll be livestreamed on Flyin' Miata's YT channel from 3:00-4:30 Pacific on Saturday, Oct 21 (tomorrow).

Colin Wood
Colin Wood Associate Editor
10/20/23 12:07 p.m.

Wow. I don't have any questions (for now), but I know what I'm doing tomorrow night.

Jesse Ransom
Jesse Ransom GRM+ Memberand UltimaDork
10/20/23 12:12 p.m.

What decisions did they make which were specific to driving feel and feedback, beyond really broad things like keeping it light?

Mr_Asa
Mr_Asa UltimaDork
10/20/23 12:21 p.m.

As an engineer, I know everything in a design is about compromise. Drivetrain and suspension designs have to compromise, everything has to compromise due to budgetary concerns.  Everything has to play nicely.

What is one overall design compromise that you wish you had pushed back on, what is one engineering compromise you wish you had pushed back on?

Keith Tanner
10/20/23 12:24 p.m.

In reply to Mr_Asa :

I had that exact same question already :) It's getting asked for sure.

DeadSkunk  (Warren)
DeadSkunk (Warren) UltimaDork
10/20/23 12:31 p.m.

Why didn't they make the passenger compartment just a few inches longer.....like 2-3"?

MadScientistMatt
MadScientistMatt UltimaDork
10/20/23 12:33 p.m.

I recall seeing a clay model of a FWD proposal. Was it later developed into the Ford Econobox ZX2? It looked very similar.

Another rejected concept was mid engined. Do you think that might have also succeeded?

Mr_Asa
Mr_Asa UltimaDork
10/20/23 12:37 p.m.
Keith Tanner said:

In reply to Mr_Asa :

I had that exact same question already :) It's getting asked for sure.

Its such a hard one too.  "You created a classic.  What did you screw up?"

Datsun240ZGuy
Datsun240ZGuy MegaDork
10/20/23 12:44 p.m.