1 2
Fr3AkAzOiD
Fr3AkAzOiD Reader
12/31/20 4:52 p.m.

I have been tracking my '05 Malibu LS V6 since 2013, mainly at VIR.

During that time that biggest thing that has been holding me back is an undefeatable speed limiter that with the size tires I use stops me at 107 mph.

I have all the other bugs worked out and have overhauled the suspension last winter.

I have yet to be out to VIR since the suspension overhaul (stiffer springs, new struts/shocks) to see how it helps my lap times but there seemed to be a lot less body roll when I took it out to Tail of the Dragon in NC/TN this past spring.

Today I came across a too good to be true deal on a low mileage '06 Malibu SS.

The benefits here are that the car is tunable so the speed limiter can be removed and the 3.9L engine has over 20% more hp then the 3.5L (197hp to 240hp).

I'm debating on what to do here.

1. Should I be happy with what I have cause in the end this upgrade partnered with another suspension overhaul and better tires/wheels, oil/trans cooler, etc... will be a bit of a money pit and in the end I only expect to be about 8 seconds faster at VIR full (2:26 to 2:18 is my estimate).

2. Should I go for the Malibu SS and after getting it sorted sell the Malibu LS? 

Downside with option two is doing a lot of stuff over again. Wheel bearings, oil/trans cooler, suspension would all have to done again. There are the random things breaking through my first few track days like the Malibu LS did till it was sorted.

I would be putting more money into a car then it cost to buy.

I know I could return the Malibu LS to stock but I doubt the local Craigslisters would pay much for it. I could always sell the seat and wheels or transfer to the SS.

Would anyone on here even be interested if I did decide to sell it as it is now, set up for a track car or am I the only weirdo interested in tracking a Malibu? 

3. Swap the SS engine/wiring harness/Computer into the LS then part out/scrap the SS shell.