docwyte
docwyte UltimaDork
6/28/24 11:34 a.m.

So I've been rocking this Bose speaker that my phone plugs into in the garage for years now.  Went out there last weekend, went to plug my phone in, "Oh yeah, I've got a new phone that uses USB-C and this thing is lightning".  No problem, order up a USB-C to lightning cable, plug it into the phone, then into the speaker.  Nope!  Phone thinks the dongle is for head phones and the Bose doesn't recognize anything is plugged into it.

So, need a Bluetooth speaker for the garage, what's a decent one?

TIA!

Toyman!
Toyman! GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
6/28/24 11:37 a.m.

Can you get a Bluetooth dongle that plugs into the Bose?

Otherwise, I've had very good luck with the Monster brand speakers. 

Trent
Trent UltimaDork
6/28/24 11:41 a.m.

I've been using a castoff Samsung bluetooth sound bar for a few years now. Worked amazing in the last space, the new one, not so much. I should try a new spot for it.

Been thinking about splashing out on the Marshall, because guitar guy. The Dewalt would be a reasonable choice for me considering all the yellow tools I already have but I just can't make myself pay for one.

dean1484
dean1484 GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
6/28/24 11:42 a.m.

I have a little Bose unit I picked up at Costco.  Charges with a type C plug.  Blue tooth connectivity with everything I have tried it on has been flawless.  I use it at the office when no one is around.  I have wanted to get another for the house as it is so convenient to move from place to place.  The sound is WAY WAY better than it should be for the size of this thing.  It is about 7 inches long and three inches high and yet it can fill a whole room with sound with no issue.  Most impressive to me is that even at the upper levels of the volume there does not seem to be any distortion.

This is the unit I have. (as you can hopefully tell I highly recommend it)

https://www.costco.com/bose-soundlink-flex-se-bluetooth-speaker.product.4000037988.html