1 2
alex
alex Dork
10/21/09 8:14 p.m.

I'm new to the world of simple machines. Well, okay, I'm new to their use for non-destructive means. As somebody s-m-r-t once said, 'Give me a long enough lever and a place to stand, and I shall move the Earth. Or snap this bolt. Whatever, just hold my beer.'

Anywho, I'd like to rig up a pulley system to hang from the rafters in my garage, which I can employ to remove the utility cap from my new utility truck singlehandedly. (Alternatively, the system can require the use of both of my hands. Bonus points if you can design something that doesn't require me to put down my beer, though.)

All right, arm chair engineers: on your mark, get set, design!

NYG95GA
NYG95GA SuperDork
10/21/09 8:22 p.m.

Modify a garage door opener? 4 hooks, 1 push button.

alex
alex Dork
10/21/09 8:24 p.m.

Oh em gee. Push button. My mind is blown.

That said, I do like the idea of employing pulleys and rope and such. Very primitive.

fastasleep
fastasleep Reader
10/21/09 8:26 p.m.

What is the weight, dimensions, budget, etc.? Also, tell me about the rafters.......(picture yourself lying down on a chase and telling me about the rafters).

-Les

Spinout007
Spinout007 GRM+ Memberand Reader
10/21/09 8:28 p.m.

4 hooks, a pulley above the area where the bed of the truck would be, a pulley off to the side of the garage, and a harbor freight elec boat winch, 3000lb capacity elec winch with a pair of pulleys should move just about anything. WITHOUT putting down your beer. Or as my wife says you could "just get a chick to hold your beer"

xci_ed6
xci_ed6 Reader
10/21/09 8:30 p.m.

the four corners, and the 5th pully below, are fixed to the rafters. They change the direction of the rope 90*, virticle to horizontal. The four corners should be swivel mounted, while the lower 5th should be fixed. The 3 in the center are floating. This will only work if the topper is somewhat balanced, but no guarantees regardless.

Photobucket