1 2 3 4
EvanR
EvanR Reader
6/1/12 5:04 p.m.

On a blog I read, one of the commentators had an issue with the stock appearance of a Gen1 Celica.

He said that it needed lowering springs (or whatever) because there was too much "wheel gap". I think the implication is that the top of the tire sits (visually) below the wheel arch.

Now don't get me wrong - I understand the handling and aerodynamic benefits of a lowered car.

But I fail to see how a normal suspension in a normal wheel arch is visually offensive. I expect a more insightful response here than on the blog where I originally found it.

I'm not a designer, and I don't have a designer's eye. What is so offensive?

RealMiniDriver
RealMiniDriver SuperDork
6/1/12 5:05 p.m.

Oh man, I can't wait to see Anti-Stance's response to this.

Knurled
Knurled GRM+ Memberand Dork
6/1/12 5:13 p.m.
EvanR wrote: But I fail to see how a normal suspension in a normal wheel arch is visually offensive. I expect a more insightful response here than on the blog where I originally found it. I'm not a designer, and I don't have a designer's eye. What is so offensive?

It's a form of schizophrenia to fixate on one minute aspect of something, while completely ignoring everything else.

For example, slamming a car to get rid of the wheel gap at the very top of the fenderwell, while ignoring the 3-4" of gap at the sides.

Me, I see slammed cars and think they look awful, because the proportions get destroyed. It's like the same effect as jacking a car up two feet to put 28" wheels on it.

EvanR
EvanR Reader
6/1/12 5:23 p.m.

So I guess this...

Must be the height of automobile design!

z31maniac
z31maniac UberDork
6/1/12 5:26 p.m.

Look at a stock height E30 vs a lowered one. Stock height looks terrible.

I attribute it to playing with Hot Wheels and being around race cars growing up.

EvanR
EvanR Reader
6/1/12 5:33 p.m.
z31maniac wrote: Stock height looks terrible.