1 2 3
RonnieFnD
RonnieFnD HalfDork
4/22/24 8:26 a.m.

So this morning I have to go take a three hour electrical exam on star connectors in a Chrysler Pacifica because Stellantis distributes half the cars on earth.   As I'm taking this completely worthless (for me) exam this is the service drive at work.....something doesn't line up here.

I'm old, grumpy, and I want everyone off my lawn lol.

wvumtnbkr
wvumtnbkr GRM+ Memberand UltimaDork
4/22/24 9:11 a.m.

I don't disagree with you necessarily, but I am failing to see the connection.

That being said, I am an engineer.  I work with engineers.  Some of them are brilliant and know how to work with objects and people and are successful.

Others are not so good with people OR objects.

Some of them have formal educations and even doctorate degrees.  Some have a high school diploma.

There does not seem to be any correlation between degree and ability.  There also doesn't seem to be much correlation between time on the job and ability.

I *think* it's more about can you apply your knowledge and wisdom to the task at hand?  Can you learn from your own and others successes and failures and apply it to future tasks?

Then finally, did the individual take advantage of the opportunities that were available?  This last one is the difference I see most often for people working for a "normal" paycheck and those that can afford ferraris.

ShawnG
ShawnG MegaDork
4/22/24 10:15 a.m.

"Trades are for the dumb kids, you need to learn 'computers' if you want to get a job"

One of my teachers in high-school. Coincidentally the same one who didn't understand that a salary is the whole years pay, paid out in a set number of installments. If you have no pay for two months in the summer, that's your fault.

<edit>

I should also say that most of my teachers were great and had a big hand in putting me where I am today.  There were only a couple who were completely useless and they were certainly in the minority.

Beer Baron 🍺