Toyman01
Toyman01 GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
1/9/16 7:46 p.m.

I won't say I'm a great cook, but I am a pretty good one. I hate it when a plan falls apart, especially when it involves cooking.

This time it was a 7 lb roasting hen. Rinsed, dried, salt, pepper, garlic, stuffed with onions and celery. A few more onions and mushrooms. Should be tasty, right? We cook at least one of these a month, but this time I changed a few things. I cooked it uncovered, for a crisper skin. I used a Vidialia sweet onion, instead of a yellow onion. I added mushrooms and garlic, and I used a roasting hen rather than a couple of frying birds.

15 minutes at 450, and then 20 minutes a pound at 350. Should be perfect right? Sure looked good when it came out of the oven. Yes, the skin split, so maybe one breast is a little try.

This was the nastiest chicken I have ever cooked. It was like eating rubber. Tasteless, chewy, gross, rubber.

The worst part is, I don't know why. Nothing I changed should have had that dramatic of an effect. I figured worst case, it would be dry from being cooked uncovered, but it was actually pretty moist.

I'm starting to wonder if it was the bird.

petegossett
petegossett GRM+ Memberand PowerDork
1/9/16 8:15 p.m.