1 2 3
whiskey_business
whiskey_business GRM+ Memberand New Reader
10/12/16 1:23 p.m.

Hello all. I'm a mechanical engineering student at Wayne State University in Detroit, MI and I'm gonna give you all a build thread for this year's car. Projected Specs -

405 lbs wet

60.25 inch wheelbase

10 inch rims, Hoosier R25B compound tires

Restricted Honda CBR600RR 4-Cylinder with custom headers, intake, internals ~85hp

Chain-drive to Torsen LSD

Inboard Pullrod Suspension, Ohlins coilovers

Rowdy as E36 M3

singleslammer
singleslammer PowerDork
10/12/16 1:43 p.m.

Yes, sooo much yes! I am interested in your chain drive setup

whiskey_business
10/12/16 1:44 p.m.

Since we haven't built anything yet, I figured I'd throw my brake pedal box designs up here for your enjoyment.

whiskey_business
10/12/16 1:45 p.m.

In reply to singleslammer:

What do you want to know? I'm not part of the drivetrain group but I'm at least familiar with how it works.

singleslammer
singleslammer PowerDork
10/12/16 1:48 p.m.

Parts you are using, issues that you have to over come, lesson worth sharing.

Also, I have a CNC Plasma cutter coming. If you guys need parts, let me know.

whiskey_business
10/12/16 2:02 p.m.

Our shop has a CNC plasma cutter as well, but I greatly appreciate the offer. We are using a Taylor Racing MKII differential. It is a helical style differential that they sell as a package. Our team machines custom sprockets, an eccentric differential mounting setup, and a. . . unique differential housing.

It looks something like this

singleslammer
singleslammer PowerDork
10/12/16 3:01 p.m.

Cool stuff. Thanks for the info

mazdeuce
mazdeuce UltimaDork
10/12/16 3:08 p.m.

As many pictures as they'll let you post. Suspension, frame, seat, everything! I doubt there will be a piece on this car that isn't interesting to us.

java230
java230 Dork
10/12/16 3:10 p.m.