manladypig
manladypig New Reader
2/28/19 11:08 p.m.

Alright so I got this 1976 fiat 124 that im kinda of building into a track/street car and its now time to consider the pedal situation. Im going from cable clutch to hydraulic and from cable to electronic throttle (putting in a rx8 Rotary) So obviously the stock pedals are not gonna work. I've considered multiple options but the one that tickles my pickle the most is some universal floor mounted pedals, you know something like this:

my only problem is I do not know how to hook up the brakes with this kind of setup. Obviously you can no longer have a brake booster so my question is how do these pedals actuate the master cylinder? And can you use the stock master cylinder? Im new to a more race oriented build so any help is appreciated.

jfryjfry
jfryjfry HalfDork
2/28/19 11:37 p.m.

Behind the pedals are usually three master cylinders.  One for the clutch and one for the brakes or, more often, one for the front and one for the rear brakes. 

Run the lines from the masters to the appropriate destinations, T’ing the front and rear lines to each wheel

manladypig
manladypig New Reader
2/28/19 11:48 p.m.

In reply to jfryjfry :

ooooh so the master cylinder is just right on the pedal, alright alright

manladypig
manladypig New Reader
2/28/19 11:57 p.m.

In reply to jfryjfry :

now, with these setups do you have metal brake lines still? or do you just go rubber all the way, typically i mean

jfryjfry
jfryjfry HalfDork
3/1/19 12:19 a.m.

Metal is more time consuming to run but better for several reasons.  

You can run short rubber/braided lines from the masters and slaves to the hardliners for flexing and r/r purposes. 

84FSP
84FSP SuperDork
3/1/19 6:10 a.m.

Moral support granted for the swanky floor mounted pedals.  They sound like a proper solution given the swap.  They look really serviceable in that location as well.

tr8todd
tr8todd Dork
3/1/19 6:59 a.m.