RevRico
RevRico GRM+ Memberand UltraDork
12/30/17 8:16 p.m.

Point n shoot mostly. 

Um, good low light/indoor, usb or micro sd preferred to wifi, whatever that time lapse video feature is called would be handy too. $100-150?

I'm a terrible photographer, I understand but have trouble working all the options of manual mode on my phones, and their auto settings suck in my dim house. I used to look at Nikon and Sony in this price range/usage segment, are they still the better options?

Specifically, I'm trying to photograph objects smaller than 9x9x9 inches from a distance of 2 to 3 feet, in low light conditions.

ckosacranoid
ckosacranoid SuperDork
12/30/17 9:13 p.m.

I would try to get to a camera story and ask them for ideas, they will have more ideas and they can show you and you can see what is in stock and get your hands on the stuff and look and feel what is is like and then do some reviewing online and see what people are saying about the pros and cons of the unit you are looking at. That's about all I can say before giving any types of cameras.

1988RedT2
1988RedT2 UltimaDork
12/31/17 1:54 p.m.

I picked one of these up recently.  Yashica Lynx 14E.  Great in low light thanks to 45 mm f/1.4 lens!  No USB, though.  35mm film only. 

http://farm3.staticflickr.com/2480/4172906810_c3c9f4d469.jpg

travellering
travellering HalfDork
12/31/17 3:09 p.m.

Is there anything stopping you bringing more light to bear on the subject?  Work lights,  home-made studio lights, etc.?

clutchsmoke
clutchsmoke SuperDork
12/31/17 3:18 p.m.

Without doing any research I think you might need a little higher budget. 

RevRico
RevRico GRM+ Memberand UltraDork
12/31/17 3:23 p.m.

Mostly laziness with a side wanting a new toy.