1 2
CrustyRedXpress
CrustyRedXpress GRM+ Memberand Dork
6/12/24 12:40 p.m.

TL;DR I'm 41 and want to buy a sport bike to ride around the mountains in Colorado. Am I nuts?

EDIT: I have no prior motorcycle experience, am a cautious driver and am in good physical condition.

In college I always wanted a 916, but had the misfortune of moving to Florida where the roads are boring and the drivers are murderous. Fast forward 15 years and I'm moving to the Rockies and am considering either a Ducati 916/748/996 or a Honda RC51. 

Anybody here start riding sport bikes later in life? If so, any advice beyond ATGATT and start out with a smaller bike?

PFA:

eedavis
eedavis GRM+ Memberand New Reader
6/12/24 12:57 p.m.

o.b. out of context quote:

You won't regret it (if you live). 
  -- Mark Twain

Get some training. IDK who does it out there, but find someone that teaches "road racing on dirt" or similar. Dirt flat track would be a close second. HDPE for bikes after that, or race school. If I have my history right, all the car HDPEs basically grew out of Keith Code's California Superbike School anyways. Lots of the material was straight lifted from Keith.

RC51 ... sounds awesome, steering is seriously heavy. Not dealbrakingly so IMO, just my observation.

edit: I don't think a 916 or 748 is too big for a first bike. I mean they're quick, but not not uncomprehensibly so. A 996, IDK, never ridden one. Bottom line the throttle works both directions on all bikes, and if you really really learn dynamics (see above), starting on a faster-than-strictly-sane bike isn't a recipe for certain pain. You're not a teenager any more, presumably you learned some self-preservation along the way? ;)

wearymicrobe
wearymicrobe PowerDork
6/12/24 1:03 p.m.

43 here and still on sport bikes. Sport bikes for the track, fast nakeds for the street.