CyberEric
CyberEric HalfDork
6/14/17 5:26 p.m.

Thread from 2017:

I am a total newbie at electrical issues, and I am trying to diagnose a parasitic draw on my battery. The problem is, my digital multimeter (a Klein MM300) doesn't seem to want to read amps all of a sudden. It seemed to for a second, now it just reads 0.00. I am wondering if I fried it when I accidentally left the lead in the Amp port and switched the knob to Volts and measured the battery. Just so you know what I'm doing to try to read the amps: I'm touching the red lead to the negative terminal and the black lead to the ground lead on the car. Thanks!

APEowner
APEowner GRM+ Memberand Reader
6/14/17 5:36 p.m.

Most meters have an internal fuse on the Amp port to protect the meter when you do something like connect it to a 12v source with no series resistance. I'd say yours is blown.

CyberEric
CyberEric Reader
6/14/17 5:54 p.m.

Okay, thanks. I thought it might be, but wasn't sure since the Volts port is still working, and because even on amps it reads 0.00.

Streetwiseguy
Streetwiseguy UltimaDork
6/14/17 7:25 p.m.

Fuse is most likely. You either touched something you shouldnt have, or there was too much load on the circuit you were testing.

T.J.
T.J. UltimaDork
6/14/17 7:52 p.m.

Open it up and replace the fuse. It is fairly easy to blow them. Realize a voltmeter is designed to have a high input imefence, but an ammeter is the opposite. It has a very low input impedence and if you connect it across 12v it essentially is a short and the fuse will blow to protect itself.

APEowner
APEowner GRM+ Memberand Reader
6/14/17 9:38 p.m.
CyberEric wrote: Okay, thanks. I thought it might be, but wasn't sure since the Volts port is still working, and because even on amps it reads 0.00.