ManhattanM (fka NY535iManual)
ManhattanM (fka NY535iManual) HalfDork
6/29/20 6:53 p.m.

I have been to stay away from social media, including GRM, since early April, but I am making this an exception because this thread is the best way I can think of to get my thoughts down for future me, which is why its so long. This is my first build thread, here or anywhere else, and its funny to me that it is a boat and not a car. Hopefuly it’ll keep me honest on working through the boat’s needs instead of just hitting the water.. Thanks for reading!!

My love affair with boats isn’t new. In my family, we did 3 things: Racing, Boy Scouts, and boating. I grew up on the water in Florida, fishing, sailing, waterskiing, just messing around on boats. My first job was as a sailing instructor at a summer camp. Since moving north for school about 25 years ago, I’ve crewed on various racing sailboats, but that dropped off as I started tracking and then racing cars, and basically moved to zero once the kids came along. There are only so many weekends in a summer. I’ve been asking my wife about a small sailboat for about 4 years now, and she was always adamant that I could keep the Spec Miata or get a boat, but not have both; She was wise to avoid being both a racing widow and a sailing widow.

Enter Coronavirus. There is no racing for me this year, as the car is in Florida and I am in New York. We have had to cancel our long family vacation overseas, as well as the 10 days we spend with my parents at the beach and visit to MIL. We were getting a bit tapped out on long hikes and bike rides and the like, and parks are starting to get crowded. SWMBO actually said to me: “What if we got a boat? How much would it cost?” Well, OK!