Stz2020
Stz2020 New Reader
1/13/20 4:56 a.m.

Hey there.

I'm new here and I have been looking for a platform to carry on this conversation. I hope this is the right place. :)

I intend to build a light weight sports car and this is to be a diary as well as a conversation about the project where I look for advice and guidance for the project. Full disclosure that I have never done something that big before. I'm comfortable around a car and have done my own repairs. But nothing major. Head replacements, oil changes, break pads as well as painted my own car and done small body work. Again nothing close to this adventure I'm about to start. But I love to learn and am not afraid of challenges. ;)

I would like to do as much as possible myself. But I'm also able to get help for things I can't do alone. I know a few people with skills that will be useful to the project. From welders to mechanics.

My goal is to build a light weight sports car.  The intention is a Coupe fastback, 2 seats, front mid engine, RWD, manual transmission and to keep the weight as close to 2200lbs as possible. So it needs to be small. Not as small as a Miata. But not as large as a Corvette. Something with an original design for the body.

I want it to handle really well. Top speed is less important than 0-60 and handling. Handling is really the most important factor.

I want a somewhat pure sports car, to a point. I would still like to have a few basic safety features, being a father and all. So no Viper levels of raw. I would like to have ABS, airbag, traction control and air conditioning. That's basically it. Not luxury items such as electric everything or any other amenities. Just the very basic.