cvfab
cvfab None
9/14/18 12:27 p.m.

Hey everyone I'm new to the forum, ive always creeped around on here from time to time but finally decided to make an account. I'm starting a full tube chassis street car that will be licensed as a hand built car when completed. So I've been looking pretty hard to find info on exactly how to design a 3 link rear suspension but haven't found anything very clear and to the point. Just to give you guys a little background on me, I'm 29 and have a welding and fab shop and I've been in the welding industry since I graduated 11 years ago. I can build and do just about anything but I'm not a scholar when it comes to suspension design. I do have some racing experience so I'm pretty mechanically inclined. I just need some info on how to determine how long I should make my 3 link bars. The only real info that I found was that the top bar in the system needs to be around 70% in length as the bottom bars. But I can't find anywhere where it says how long to make the bottom ones. Is it based off of the wheelbase? Like is bottom bar links determined by how long the wheelbase of the car is? From driving and setting up dirt late models I know that usually the longer a bar is the smoother the reaction is. I'll be running a watts link on the rear to keep it centered up. Adjustable coil overs front and rear as well. Since the car isn't built yet I basically have an unlimited platform to work with as far as mounting locations and chassis design go.

Btw my build is going to consist of a 5.3 engine and a 4l65e trans with either a aluminum or carbon fiber driveshaft with a quickchange rear end. Front suspension I'll be double a arm unequal length (have to start designing that as well) the chassis will be mostly 1 3/4"X .120 DOM and I'm looking to be around 100"-105" wheelbase maybe a little longer. Any kind of body panels will be handmade. I plan on having a ride height of somwhere around 4-5 inch ground clearance.