1 2
psychic_mechanic
psychic_mechanic Dork
6/10/15 6:36 p.m.

The car has been languishing in the yard for a while in need of body work and some minor mechanical tweaks. I'm not very experienced at body work, so I may ask lots of questions. The whole album is here.

photo DSCF0024_zps0albvyat.jpg

This one is just rough photo DSCF0030_zpsfgzgpvvc.jpg

383 Big Block photo DSCF0032_zpsxonrugvs.jpg

bgkast
bgkast GRM+ Memberand UberDork
6/10/15 7:06 p.m.

I'm in.

moparman76_69
moparman76_69 UltraDork
6/10/15 7:11 p.m.

72 swinger?

patgizz
patgizz GRM+ Memberand PowerDork
6/10/15 8:11 p.m.

bodywork? it needs chemotherapy.

Dusterbd13
Dusterbd13 UltraDork
6/10/15 8:15 p.m.

You had me at dart.

And it's just weight reduction. Factory equipment on mopars of this era.

I've never seen a non-rusty original mopar.

Jayisacarguy
Jayisacarguy New Reader
6/10/15 9:30 p.m.

Looks like a cool project. I had a 70' with a 400 big block I swapped into it. That looks like an RB though, 440 I'm guessing? Also are those ford pony rims, is it running an 8.8 rear?

psychic_mechanic
psychic_mechanic Dork
6/10/15 10:06 p.m.
moparman76_69 wrote: 72 swinger?

Close, it's a '71.

psychic_mechanic
psychic_mechanic Dork
6/10/15 10:14 p.m.

In reply to Jayisacarguy:

It's a 383, forged crank, polished rods, ARP bolts and lightweight flat-top pistons that was all balanced. I think the heads were 516 closed chamber castings. There was a lot of porting done to the heads. There's some full length headers on it that were a pain to massage to fit. We've got the cheapest ebay roller tipped rockers on it right now and have had 2 of them give us problems, so they'll probably be upgraded soon.

The 8.8 is out of a 2000 explorer, currently running 3.55 gears with a limited slip. 4 wheel discs are much better than the stock four wheel drums the slant six car came with.

Pat
Pat HalfDork
6/11/15 5:39 a.m.

I had a '71 that I drove for years. Loved that car.

Where in MD are you?

Kenny_McCormic