gh0st
gh0st New Reader
7/12/24 9:41 a.m.

tl;dr - can I make this better than it is?

lengthy post - my brother-in-law passed away 3 years ago and his first gen Scion xB with a manual trans has been sitting in the driveway since then. We have some kids in the family that turned 16 and I mentioned this would be an awesome first car. My nephew was just given this car by his aunt, so we have no money into it. He has no mechanical experience with cars and is super eager to learn, so we'll be using this car as a learning tool (changing brakes, oil, etc).

This car holds serious sentimental value for everyone in the family, so I don't mind sinking an absurd amount of time and effort into it. I have plenty of experience with mechanical work and a lift in my garage. The front subframe has some rot on it too, which we'll have to replace, but I'm not scared of that. I have zero experience with autobody outside of detailing. I have a crappy flux core welder that I can't really use but a strong desire to remedy that.

I put the car up in the air this morning and it's worse than I thought. This car has some massive plastic side skirts that completely cover the rocker panels. I pulled them off today and it was raining rust. There are almost no rocker panels left. One pinch weld that I had the jack pad on collapsed. The rust has also migrated to the front and rear fender, as you can see by those massive holes.

This car doesn't need to be concours quality or OEM quality or even crappy body shop quality, it just needs to hold together for a few years. I think I realize the massive uphill battle I'm in for here, but I'm also ignorant of any autobody work. So the ultimate question here is - can I make this better than it is or is it so far gone that isn't even possible?

Links to some pictures can be found below

https://imgur.com/a/raining-ruuussttt-KvnKFEP

boulder_dweeb
boulder_dweeb Reader
7/12/24 9:46 a.m.

Hey,