wrongwheeldrive
wrongwheeldrive New Reader
2/22/13 3:04 p.m.

So, I'm registered for the NJ ProSolo. I am trying to decide on what car to drive, as I currently have several options. In addition, I'm a poor college student, so I would really like to be able to win some contingency $ in order to help fund some good summer tires to replace the worn star specs on my DD. My options are as follows:

1) Drive my father's Miata in STR. Its 90% prepped right now, but I don't think we will have new tires in time for the event. I'll have to run on either 16x7's with 3 yr old RE-11's, or try and borrow a friends 195 toyos on 15x7.5's. However, 85% of my seat time is in FWD/AWD cars, and I will only have 1 event in the car before the pro. In addition, the class is stacked with 18 drivers, many of whom are top-notch, meaning the chances of me winning are slim.

2) Drive a friend's RTF/RT2 prepped HS mazda 3 in STF/S3. The PSI for STF is generous, and RTF isn't THAT far off full STF prep. I have the choice of running Z2's on 6.5in rims or Z1's on 7 inch rims. S3 is shallower than STR with only 8 entries, and I would most likely fare better than I would in STR, especially since I already have some seat time in this car. Can I hang with FSP, SMF, and GS in a RTF car with STF pax and the torquey 3?

3) Drive a Evo 9 in STU. The car is currently underprepared, and that likely won't change for the pro. It would also mean I have to take the truck and trailer down instead of my fuel efficient DD.

4) Drive a SSM miata. This will be the first real shakedown event for the car, and I will have to supply 15x10's with hoosiers from our SMF car. SSM only has 2 registered drivers right now, meaning no contingency.

5) Drive a HS 1991 civic si in RT2. The car will be on my old, 15,000 mi/115 run star specs, and up against the evil mini. I am however extremely familiar with the EF chassis.

So, GRM, which option would you choose given my options?

N Sperlo
N Sperlo UltimaDork
2/22/13 3:08 p.m.