1 2
SonofSVreX
SonofSVreX None
10/1/16 9:16 a.m.

I am the middle son of SVreX, and I have been coming to the GRM Challenge since 2004, when I was 5. In the past I have ridden shotgun in some creations that probably defy the laws of physics cough (Aussie) cough. And I have ridden next to some pretty incredible drivers.

But yesterday was different. Yesterday I was the one in the drivers seat.

Let me count the firsts:

• First day driving a stick shift
  • First day driving on an autocross course
  • First day driving on a drag strip
  • First day having a car shut down while I was driving
  • And finally first day I realized that autocross is one of the funnest things EVER

Thank you staff for putting together a great event that is a ton of fun for all ages. And thank you to the others attending the event who were patient with me while I was feeling this new experience out.

And especially thanks to my dad (SVreX)for teaching me (and being patient while I figured this out), and Mr Joshua and Spinout007 for helping me out with some tips and tricks.

It was a blast and I'm looking forward to coming back to drive in it again next year.

MrJoshua
MrJoshua UltimaDork
10/1/16 9:25 a.m.

You did really really well. It was amusing to watch problems we assumed to be amateur mistakes turn out to be car problems every time.

Now you guys have a year to practice autocrossing and tuning megasquirt.

dean1484
dean1484 GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
10/1/16 12:08 p.m.

TERMINATOR APPROVED THREAD

sergio
sergio Reader
10/1/16 12:11 p.m.

Yes autocrossing is a blast. You learn car control for the real world. Just wait til you do a track day(HPDE) !!!

sesto elemento
sesto elemento SuperDork
10/1/16 12:12 p.m.

And I bet this kid will never smoke crack. Good parenting svrx!

Toyman01
Toyman01 GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
10/1/16 2:05 p.m.

Welcome aboard!!

WildScotsRacing
WildScotsRacing HalfDork
10/1/16 3:35 p.m.