1 2
Nick Murphy
Nick Murphy New Reader
8/18/13 9:15 p.m.

Just wanted to get some feedback on this, any comments appreciated. I am currently looking for a streetable car that could also be used for autocross and rallycross. Also, I have no experience with either of these. This wouldnt be a car I would need to drive to work everyday, but would need to be able to be driven in winter, on street if needed. I figured as a beginner in auto or rallycross, I would probably not doing many more changes than tires for an event. Anyways, heres my thoughts on possible cars, please let me know what you think.

First choice would be e36, roomy enough to carry tools/tires and have some experience with BMWs, plus the quickest stock car Im looking at. I guess my only concern with the e36 is that before any hooliganism ensues I would need to know reinforce rear. I had this issue with an e46.

Others would be Volvo 240 Miata First gen MR2 Early 90s 240 SX First gen RX7

I have never driven the last three so I'm mostly curious just to try these but the two seaters are lacking cargo room obviously. No experience with rotaries for the RX.

thanks alot just curious for any ideas

irish44j
irish44j UberDork
8/18/13 10:00 p.m.

All of the list are good rallycross candidates. In our region it's e30s and 2nd gen RX7s that dominate, but in other regions 1st gen RX7s do, and it seems Miatas do well at nationals.

Volvo 240 was my "other" choice when I got the e30 and I think it would have been similar in competitiveness to the e30.

Frankly, I prefer the e30/Volvo 240/e36. I carry a ton of gear to rallycross, and even with a small tire trailer I still like having interior space. That said, you can always tow a better trailer than me or carry less spares/tools/gear. Also depends if you're running a street tire class or running rally tires.

Keep in mind that a car that is competitive in autocross typically won't be competitive in rallycross and vice versa.