stroker
stroker UltraDork
6/7/19 6:45 p.m.

There's a ratty and stupid-cheap four door Metro nearby.  I'm thinking Challenge material and hopefully a way to get my kids interested in turning wrenches.  Has anyone ever done anything significant from a performance perspective with one?  I know they're Swifts and that some Swifts have been breathed upon heavily, but we're talking really, really low-end Challenge stuff here...  Make sure the clutch and brakes work then buy some new tires?

EDIT:  

Just found this thread which is a start

MotorsportsGordon
MotorsportsGordon HalfDork
6/7/19 8:39 p.m.

Does motorcycle engines count

irish44j
irish44j MegaDork
6/7/19 9:00 p.m.

There are at least two old Swifts running stage rally in the US. I don't recall offhand how they do, but I can tell you at least one of them is pretty quick for what it is (it was running times right around our e30 318 a couple years ago at a rally, which may just mean I'm a slow driver...)

I recall talking to the driver and he said they are extremely popular in South/Central American rally at the budget end of things, so I imagine there's some performance support for them if you can speak Spanish/Portugese :)

Image result for stage rally suzuki swift

Image result for suzuki swift STPR

irish44j
irish44j MegaDork
6/7/19 9:03 p.m.

This classified post has all the specs/mods of the blue car in the photo above

http://veh-markets.com/cars/suzuki-c/282969-suzuki-swift-gti-fully-prepared-rally-car.html

SkinnyG
SkinnyG UltraDork
6/7/19 9:04 p.m.

I think a 4-door would sweet for a mid-engine V6 project.

The front doesn't have -much- room for a V8..... but it -does- fit with persuasion (grin).

AAZCD
AAZCD Reader
6/7/19 9:07 p.m.

Chicks really dig it:  **Note: video is a bit raunchy, but having owned a couple Metros back when I was trying to save on gas, it comes to mind when I see them mentioned.

buzzboy
buzzboy HalfDork
6/7/19 9:17 p.m.

In reply to SkinnyG :