1 2
docwyte
docwyte Dork
10/24/16 8:40 a.m.

Ok, I've gone too long without one of these and I need to buy one.

Like most of you guys I'm a hobbyist, so I don't need to spend huge money on a Snap On tap and die set. However I don't want a crappy Harbor Freight one either.

So what are the suggestions for a good quality tap and die set? Something nicer than Harbor Freight but less expensive than Snap On?

Stefan (Not Bruce)
Stefan (Not Bruce) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
10/24/16 8:43 a.m.

I have a Craftsman set and it has been great and well used.

I've added a few pieces here and there for specific projects, but overall it has been a great set.

Danny Shields
Danny Shields GRM+ Memberand Reader
10/24/16 8:45 a.m.

I have also been happy with Craftsman,from Sears.

Slippery
Slippery GRM+ Memberand Dork
10/24/16 8:46 a.m.

Another vote for Craftsman

docwyte
docwyte Dork
10/24/16 8:53 a.m.

gotcha, is that something that they keep in stock at their stores, or do I have to order it from sears.com?

Is there more than one? I want to get as complete a set as possible...

Huckleberry
Huckleberry MegaDork
10/24/16 8:56 a.m.

The crappy HF sets with Nitride coating have served me pretty well actually. They are of indistinguishable quality from similar offerings at Sears, Lowes, etc.

They are obviously of lesser quality and a fraction of the cost of those I get from a machinist supply but those are only for an application where I need to tap 50 holes or a high-torque specialty app like a LH 3/4-16 for putting heim joints in 1" tubing... or when I need a different tap profile like a flat bottom hole.

Otherwise, for just a few common through-hole uses, I buy the HF sets on sale with a 20% coupon. You can't beat the price/performance. One whole 60 piece metric set costs less than a single 3 tap set from a precision brand. I do not find them to be any better/worse than other general purpose retailers selling cheap sets.