Klayfish
Klayfish UltraDork
2/16/15 2:01 p.m.

I know they're rebadged Opels, and the reviews I read on them said they were fun to drive, but I have no experience with them. Anyone have one? Just kicking tires looking for a sub $6k hatch/wagon to use as a reliable runabout. Saw one on CL, had never thought about them until I saw it. Don't see many on the road. I'd assume since they were sold in Europe, part supply shouldn't be too hard?

Gearheadotaku
Gearheadotaku GRM+ Memberand PowerDork
2/16/15 2:05 p.m.

I test drove one and was disappointed. Gutless, poor control layout, and cheap interior. And this from a guy looking to get out of a '97 Saturn SC2.

Parts could be a bother, while popular in Europe, they were only sold here a few years.

Derick Freese
Derick Freese UltraDork
2/16/15 2:07 p.m.

Some parts are harder to come by than they should. Clutches are $450 and typically need to be replaced around 100,000 miles. 138HP, so it's slow. If you do get one, get an XR, since they have nicer interiors and most had the handling package with a 1.4" drop and 17" or 18" wheels. In under 100,000 miles, it's needed 2 rear pairs of struts, an alternator, an AC compressor, a clutch, and a coil pack.

JohnyHachi6
JohnyHachi6 Dork
2/16/15 2:09 p.m.

I drove one that belonged to a co-worker at GM when they first came out. He had the XR(?), or whatever the sportiest model was. It was fun to drive and quick through the auto-x courses. I like the styling and thought the interior was decent for a GM product of that vintage. I would guess that they're not super reliable compared to, say, a civic, but I don't have any evidence to back that up.

Klayfish
Klayfish UltraDork
2/16/15 2:19 p.m.