Tony Sestito
Tony Sestito PowerDork
2/16/18 1:23 p.m.

Lately, I've been growing tired of my 1997 Dodge Dakota. It owes me nothing; I bought it on its way to the junkyard, and after putting some work into it, it's had a 6 year stay of execution. But lately, it's always needing something and it's starting to get rusty. I'm thinking this is my final year with it before I send it on it's merry way. 

But what is going to replace it? I spoke with SWMBO, and she informed me that she likes older trucks. She would be open to us getting something cool and older, and if it has A/C (which the Dakota doesn't), that would be a huge bonus and a selling point. 

Looking at GM trucks made my head spin. I love them, but 1973-87 "box" trucks are absurdly priced right now. Fords... well, I have some experience with them, as my dad had 80's and 90's F150's growing up. And working on my dad's old 1992 F150 4x4 still keeps me up at night. 

That leaves Dodge. 

When I was a kid, I had a "cool uncle" that always drove Dodges. He had a number of W150's, Power Wagons, and even a Royal SE Ramcharger 4x4. All of them were awesome. A friend of mine also has a 440-swapped 1972 D100 that absolutely rules, and a 1980's version of that with a hopped-up 318 or 360 would be more than enough for me. And somehow, I'm noticing that the "square body" Dodge trucks sell for a fraction of the price of what the GM and Ford counterparts do, especially the 1981-1993 ones. I'm thinking that I'm going to try and penny pinch a bit this year and save up enough to somehow get my hands on a Southern, rust-free example of a Dodge D100/D150 or W150 that I can keep forever. I'd consider a W250 or a Power Wagon if the price is right. Cummins trucks are priced stupidly because Diesel Bros. 

What should I be looking for? So far, here's what I know:

-I love the way they look. 

See what I mean?

-They switched to EFI on the V8's somewhere around 1988