brandonsmash
brandonsmash GRM+ Memberand Reader
6/20/24 1:27 p.m.

I've had my Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk for some years now and really like it: I love how easy it is to drive and park, and I love that it can actually do some decent off-roady stuff. The rear locker has come in handy on more than one occasion. However, it's to the point where I want to be able to tow more and when my wife and I go out climbing and camping we absolutely max out the space available and have to Tetris everything together to pack. That's annoying.

In the next 6-10 months I'll be looking to replace the Jeep. I'm a contractor and will be using this to show to up to job sites so I can't have anything too old OR too flashy; it will also be used for work so it will absolutely haul tools, material, etc. 

I'd like something that's good off road. Locking rear diff is a must; even though the vast majority of the time is spent on pavement, I enjoy going places with limited traction. I also want something that's legitimately a nice place to be inside, as I spend a fair amount of time driving around the state for work -- here it's worth noting that I'm a bigger person (mostly retired semi-pro weightlifter). Adaptive Cruise Control is pretty much a necessity: I've had that on a couple rentals and it's been quite nice. Towing is a priority: My enclosed trailer weighs about 3,700lb and my track car another 2,200. 6k lb towing capacity is a minimum. 

I kind of also want something as small as possible that fits the crtieria: The easier to drive and park, the better. This effectively rules out the Grand Cherokee L, etc. 

Budget... somewhere around 60k, I guess? 

Some options I've considered:

* New Land Cruiser. Decent inside, solid off-road chops, tows 6k lb. Good fuel economy. On the downside, the rear seats don't fold flat and 6k lb tow is a bare minimum.