Nis14
Nis14 New Reader
1/18/15 5:24 a.m.

Hi Guys,

So after a 5 year break from cars, I've started modding up a Genesis Coupe Base model. I've done the basic stuff already, bigger brakes, lsd, coilovers, thicker sway bars, braces etc...

I've been modifying cars since I was 16 years old. This car is probably the most streetable car I've modded so far. In younger and less wiser days, I use to rock super stiff coilovers and not bat an eye.

Recently, after the install of my coilovers (entry-level Stance SS)...I've been feeling nervious on the roads just driving normally. If I really think about it the coilovers are a improvement over base in terms of dampening, but I get really nervous about bumps on the roads throwing me, and the roads here in Seoul aren't that bad...

I'm wondering if its a psychological things or if I'm just getting too old for this :(

Funny thing is that when I push the car in the twisties ... I'm a lot more confident

Thoughts?

Bobzilla
Bobzilla UltimaDork
1/18/15 6:31 a.m.

I feel the same way with the "custom" Ksports on the Forte. But after 2 summers on them, I no longer care as much. Granted, I have to ship the fronts to FEAL this coming week to get them rebuilt and revalved but hey.... there's tradeoffs everywhere.

To be honest, if it's a daily and not a competition car, I'd rather rock some good struts/shocks (Koni preferably) and some decent lowering springs (H&R's) and call it a day. The ride is better and the parts are better than most cheap coilovers by a long shot. NOw if I can just get my hands on some used Veloster front struts.......

kanaric
kanaric Dork
1/18/15 9:50 a.m.

I want to buy some aftermarket suspension packages and know nothing much about suspension but everything for the car I own is like BC coilovers type E36 M3 for stance nation people.

Bobzilla
Bobzilla UltimaDork
1/18/15 5:32 p.m.