twolittlebroncos
twolittlebroncos Reader
2/19/15 8:54 a.m.

My county verifies my '99 Tacoma is emissions compliant with an OBD2 scan (no visual, no tailpipe, just zero tolerance for CELs). I'm interested in turbocharging the motor (2rz) and also maintaining emissions compliance. I have no experience with turbocharging or with Megasquirt, but I'm interested in learning more about both. I see three approaches:

1) Stock fuel management - low boost (boring) 2) Piggyback or Megasquirt in a piggyback configuration 3) Megasquirt in a plug-n-play format and swap back the stock ECU for emissions testing

Option 3 is the most interesting to me. I'm still in the researching stage, but having a hard time finding much information on the feasibility of swapping ECUs back and forth. Anyone have experience doing anything similar? Other advice?

Duke
Duke UltimaDork
2/19/15 9:12 a.m.

My only experience with the Manic Miata was horrid. It had a Link ECU in the stock housing, supercharger, and a bunch of other crap. I tried (for a year!) setting the car back to approximate stock, in various configurations, and never got the stock ECU to give a READY condition, even though it wouldn't throw any codes, or even any pending codes. Beware, or have a Plan B.

foxtrapper
foxtrapper UltimaDork
2/19/15 9:58 a.m.

If your county is only looking at the dashboard for the light, you can pass by just removing the bulb.

But, far more likely is they are connecting to the ECU via the OBD port, and checking the readiness codes. That's a problem. You can check the piggyback results yourself via an ELM-27 scanner and the Torque app. If it doesn't give the code count necessary to pass, you're likely going with option #3 when it comes time to pass emissions.

Which is the fancy version of what all of us did years ago for tailpipe testing. We'd all detune our cars to pass the test, then retune as soon as we got home.

HappyAndy
HappyAndy UltraDork
2/19/15 10:39 a.m.

There may be an option #4.