Duke
Duke UltimaDork
1/19/15 12:13 p.m.

We'll know in a few days, but I suspect the Battle Bus is going to be totaled (2000 Grand Caravan Sport, 3.3, 70k miles). I wouldn't mind modernizing a little, so I'm bench shopping. Here are some random thoughts:

• It's a road trip / utility / backup vehicle that will likely get 3,000 miles / yr
  • Purchase price definitely <$15k, but lower is better - budget will depend on vehicle
  • Would like one with <75,000 miles at time of purchase
  • AWD would be preferred, but is not a strict requirement
  • Leather would be nice, but is not a strict requirement

So far the two that keep popping up in my head are the Mopar twins, particularly in the 3.8/6AT Touring package. I've got plenty of happy experience with my previous Caravans, and no reason not to expect more of the same. There are a million of them out there, and I can find lots of nice 2006+ examples with 60k on the clock for under $10k. Plus, they usually have the Stow-N-Go seating, which is a plus for Mrs. Duke. The only real drawback is that AWD was discontinued in 2007, and AWD versions are not that common.

So, enter the Flex idea. Never driven, or even sat in one. I like the styling and interior space. It's more readily available in AWD. It has pros and cons, of course:

• (-) More expensive ($3-6k), particularly in newer AWD format
  • (-) Higher miles / $ at a given price point
  • (-) No stow-n-go seating (right?)
  • (-) About 150-200 lbs heavier than comparable GC/T&C
  • (+) More power than comparable GC/T&C
  • (+) More interior space than comparable GC/T&C
  • (+) AWD easier to find, and in newer cars