nicksta43
nicksta43 Dork
9/9/12 10:25 p.m.

I know we've had discussions about various glassing projects before. And I have some experience working with it. What I have in mind is a much more complex project than I've attempted before.

On my old 1982 e21 I had a FOHA front lip spoiler.These are made from pure weapons grade unobtainium here in the States. And when they do pop up for sale they are huge$$$.

I would like to copy this spoiler and incorporate the area where the rubber bellows are behind the bumper into the piece.

I'm comfortable with the actual layup part of the process. I don't know the best way to create the mold to work off of.

The front valance comes off easily but it's very flexible off the car. Because of that I'd be afraid to try and work with it off the car.

I really don't know where to start. Any advice?

Pics of what I would like to recreate.

I would like to bring it up the sides and incorporate this piece that runs from behind the bumper to the wheel well.

BoxheadTim
BoxheadTim GRM+ Memberand UberDork
9/10/12 12:01 a.m.

Trying to make the mold on the car probably isn't such a bad idea. You'd have to smother the area you'll hit with the fibreglass with mold release wax and make sure that you don't accidentally stick fg to anything around it.

tr8todd
tr8todd Reader
9/10/12 5:53 a.m.

Find a spare lower valance and attach it to the valance off the car. You may need to reinforce the steel part so it doesn't flex.

JThw8
JThw8 UberDork
9/10/12 7:07 a.m.
tr8todd wrote: Find a spare lower valance and attach it to the valance off the car. You may need to reinforce the steel part so it doesn't flex.