glueguy
glueguy GRM+ Memberand Dork
8/4/17 9:37 p.m.

I am a FL resident but starting new job where I am based in Philadelphia. I've done this in other states (NC, WV, MI) and in all of those everyone was fine with me keeping my FL driver's license and using my second home (local apartment with lease as proof) as the title address. This way I could get local plates and local insurance. It has to be this way because of the insurance. Insurance is tied to location (theft and accident rates) and different states have different min limits, for example, so you can't tag a car in one state and have insurance from another state. If this were the case, everyone living in New York City would just get a North Dakota insurance policy.

I am struggling with PA. They insist that I either have to declare PA residency or tag the car in FL and keep it 100% of the time in PA. I tried to explain then everyone in PA would just use a relative's out-of-state address and no one would then have to deal with the PA inspection process. So they revert to telling me I have to be a PA resident. Then I ask what about my cars and house in FL? Dunno, they say.....

Does anyone have experience doing this or know someone at the DMV that has an elevated level of competency? I've even read the PA auto laws and they talk about PA residents that can have a car registered out of state but no mention of the reverse situation.

dean1484
dean1484 GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
8/4/17 9:50 p.m.

Maintain your fla residence and keep plates and insurance as it is. You are a fla resident visiting pa

dean1484
8/4/17 10:03 p.m.

Inspections if you have them in fla should be reciprocal. I know in ma I can insect a vehical from out of state if there inspection is expired. That way the car can be drivin legally in the state you are in.

mad_machine
mad_machine GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
8/5/17 1:52 a.m.

Pa is a difficult state at the best of times. Just keep your florida tags, it's MUCH easier that way

Stealthtercel