NGTD
NGTD SuperDork
12/7/14 7:45 a.m.

I am looking at a potential tow rig. It is powered by the 2002 version of the Duramax.

Diesel gurus, please share your knowledge. Anything to look out for, etc.?

EDIT: I should add that I would be looking to flip it. I don't need a tow rig right now. It's cheap and local. Not a pickup, it's a utility body.

unk577
unk577 HalfDork
12/7/14 11:13 a.m.

Leaking injectors. LB7 has an issues. GM swapped them out and warrantied til 200k miles. If they have been replaced then just normal wear and tear

Ranger50
Ranger50 PowerDork
12/7/14 12:15 p.m.

Weak steering components. Injectors and cups. Transfer case can get a pinhole leak in it from a materials mismatch. Horrible body quality.

SVreX
SVreX MegaDork
12/7/14 12:42 p.m.

Utility bodies decrease value.

I know that sounds counter intuitive, but it's true. Trust me. I've been buying and utilizing utility bodies for over 20 years.

Even though Stahl and Readng and Knapheide will charge $4K for the body, and even though KBB and NADA say the body adds value, they don't.

The problem is the potential buyers market decreases by 90%. The number of buyers for utility bodies is MUCH fewer than a standard body.

SVreX
SVreX MegaDork
12/7/14 12:46 p.m.

Is it a standard cab, extended cab, or a crew cab?

I could be interested in buying if it is a crew. Or maybe if it is extended. No interest if it is a standard cab.

NGTD
NGTD SuperDork
12/7/14 1:27 p.m.

In reply to SVreX:

It's a crew cab and right now it's crazy cheap.

EDIT: It's a long way from you (Canada) and you won't like the rust.

NGTD
NGTD SuperDork
12/7/14 2:07 p.m.

I understand that a utility body would significantly reduce the potential buyers.

The truck is a 2wd, crew cab, dually with a utility body. It would make a great service rig for a rally team.

NGTD
NGTD SuperDork
12/7/14 4:34 p.m.

Forget it. I found out the rust is worse than I thought!

93gsxturbo
93gsxturbo Dork
12/7/14 5:55 p.m.