jrflying
jrflying New Reader
8/29/12 12:14 a.m.

So I have an original 302 block for a 67 Camaro. It is my wife's deceased father's car. I want to restore this motor and get it running. How can I remove the rest at home in my garage. I don't really have the abilities to give it an acid bath. Also I am a pretty novice mechanic.

Thanks for the help

foxtrapper
foxtrapper PowerDork
8/29/12 5:32 a.m.

A plastic tub big enough to hold the engine.

Some vinegar or CLR or beet pulp. Let it sit there for a few days.

Harder, but fun, is electrolysis, in the same tub.

dean1484
dean1484 GRM+ Memberand UltraDork
8/29/12 5:54 a.m.

If that block has a numbers matching car to go with it I would be vary careful with it and consider taking to to a shop for cleaning and inspection.

Woody
Woody GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
8/29/12 5:54 a.m.

This is my electrolysis setup. You could scale this up pretty cheaply.

Photobucket

Gearheadotaku
Gearheadotaku GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
8/29/12 7:08 a.m.

car to go with it or not, that is a very rare and valuable piece of iron. Handle with care. If you take it to a machine shop, make sure they are very well regarded. In theroy, there were only 602 of these made in 1967, and probably only a handful left. Check the stamping numbers on the area just ahead of the right cylinder head and the casting numbers on the back of the block. There are several places online to confirm what it is for certain. Do you have the complete engine or just a bare block?

Please post some pictures if you can.

93EXCivic
93EXCivic UltimaDork
8/29/12 7:33 a.m.

In reply to Gearheadotaku:

+1000. That 302 is very rare. I would use a well know machine shop if it is a real 302.

spitfirebill
spitfirebill UltraDork
8/29/12 7:37 a.m.

Are there specific block numbers for the 302? I thought they were mostly a 327 with a 283 crank.

81cpcamaro
81cpcamaro Reader
8/29/12 7:52 a.m.