rustysteel
rustysteel New Reader
9/1/13 10:43 p.m.

Someone I know is selling a sweet 2004 BMW 320i that's been modified (3L engine) with full suspension, Turner coilovers, limited slip diff etc...the list goes on. I'm still waiting for more info on the car but I'm really tempted to trade/sell my '88 LX 5.0L that I've only had for 5 months. I'm a supply teacher (Educational Assistant) and it looks like I'm back to supply work this year so I need a vehicle that I can drive all year, including winter. I've seen plenty of the BMW's on the autocross track and they handle really well. Set of BFG Rivals and I'd be ready for next year's season. I'd love to keep the Mustang and get the BMW but I don't have the room or money to have 3 cars, we have the Forester as the family wagon. Just asking for opinions as there is a vast knowledge on the board and I love to hear the responses, good or bad. Nothing may come of this but...you never know.

thanks in advance.

Glenn

aussiesmg
aussiesmg MegaDork
9/1/13 10:49 p.m.

Wow, as the owner of one of each, a stock E46 330xi and a wild Fox, the BMW is so much better in so many ways.

The Fox is fun, but the BMW is nicer, more comfortable, better brakes, chassis and suspension, stronger, safer, etc.

jdbuilder
jdbuilder New Reader
9/1/13 11:03 p.m.

The only positive of the fox body is cheap collectors car insurance. Other than that its seriously a no brainer, bmw all the way.

Travis_K
Travis_K UltraDork
9/2/13 12:04 a.m.

Having ridden in both, BMW for sure, but as long as its not automatic. The one I rode in was a 2005 with only 108k on it, and the trans was already shifting weird

rustysteel
rustysteel New Reader
9/2/13 9:06 a.m.

I like the fox it is fun but crude and not winter friendly. If I can get a test drive of the BMW I will need to make a decision. Thanks for the input so far.

AverageH
AverageH New Reader
9/2/13 2:52 p.m.

I vote BMW as well. How are they in the snow btw?

-Hamid

rustysteel
rustysteel New Reader