Markde
Markde New Reader
5/27/13 11:17 a.m.

Going to look at a dirt cheap 95 K2500 with a TBI 350 and the 4l60e. I have little experience with these but am hoping for a cheap tow/firewood vehicle.

The truck in question has spent the last 3-4 years as an on site commercial plow truck. Normally I'd run away at that but it appears to be minimally rusted and only has 115k on it, being priced slightly above scrap helps as well.

I am meeting up with the guy in a few hours, any advice for looking this this over? Supposedly runs/drives fine but I'd like to be somewhat confident it doesn't need a trans/engine rebuild in the near future before dragging it home. Also, any hidden rust spots I should check for? TIA

belteshazzar
belteshazzar UberDork
5/27/13 11:27 a.m.

sure it's a 4L60E?

Duke
Duke PowerDork
5/27/13 11:32 a.m.

If it's been local-only for 3 or 4 years, find out if if has anything preventing it from being inspected and reregistered.

Markde
Markde New Reader
5/27/13 11:41 a.m.

In reply to belteshazzar: Its a 6 lug truck so I'm assuming light duty = 4L60E, However I will be checking.

Owner says it has a clean title. I believe at least one reason for the low price is the fact the paint is absolutely awful with the characteristic early 90s GM de-lamination.

dculberson
dculberson UltraDork
5/27/13 11:42 a.m.

The 2500 usually had a 4l80e which is a lot tougher than the 4l60e. I've got a '95 C2500hd and the rust trouble spots are "all." Not really, the thing that's caused me grief has been (1) gas tank strap rusted through, and a couple brake lines have rusted out. Check the long hard line that feeds the rear brakes.

A friend of mine bought a '92 that had its frame rusted through behind the cab. I think that's a rare case.