1 2
kazoospec
kazoospec SuperDork
4/7/17 9:25 p.m.

The season is nearly upon us. I've done this before on more "local" car message boards, but thought I'd toss it out here as well. It occurred to me reading another thread that, even though most of us on here race in some form or fashion, there are a fair number who have never been out, or who may have never tried a particular form of motorsports. Think of it as sort of like the "road assist list". Basically, if you're willing to participate, list the region/area you're in, types of events and/or groups you participate in, what you're willing to do, your experience level and how to get in contact.

Here's my info, as an example:

Area/region: Southwest Michigan.

Groups I race with: Primarily West Michigan SCCA & Furrin Group, occasionally other groups such as Windy City Miata Club.

Types of events: Primarily autocross. Have done occasional track days.

What I'm willing to do: Help get you through your first event. I'm not a professional driving instructor by any means, but I can help with course walking, prepping for tech and some basic driving tips. I'll ride along and give ride alongs to help with course navigation. I can also introduce you to people who are actually fast.

Experience level: Been autocrossing for about 7 years.

Best point of contact: Probably best to post in this thread. You can try an IM, but I don't always notice them immediately.

Blitzed306
Blitzed306 HalfDork
4/7/17 9:29 p.m.

I'm located in Central AL and have never autocrossed..... if someone is local ish and does I would love to at least watch one. Everyone in my car club has never done it and thought it was crazy talk

Crxpilot
Crxpilot New Reader
4/7/17 10:16 p.m.

If any form of sanctioned performance driving (including right turns) happens within 2 hours of Lubbock, TX, hit me up.

crewperson
crewperson Reader
4/8/17 9:19 a.m.