1 2
D_Howard
D_Howard Reader
8/1/12 5:08 p.m.

I'm very new to being actually involved in motorsports. It's been a passion my whole life but it always has seemed so unattainable, never had money/the right car etc. so recently I've come into a 2002 manual Infiniti G20, and even though I can't go full racecar (its still my DD) is like to get it to a track so I can push my car and my skill legally and safely. I'll admit I'm a totally Noob, and I consider my fellow GRM'ers as my spiritual advisers haha. So gurus please tell my, what do I do next. (oh also I'm located in grand rapids, mi and am on a college student budget haha)

ProDarwin
ProDarwin SuperDork
8/1/12 5:16 p.m.

Short answer: Don't go to the track. If you can't afford to put it into a tire wall and walk away from it, don't bring it out on the track. Or get track-day insurance. It sounds like you'd be stretching your college student budget pretty thin with this.

Answer B: Autocross.

jdbuilder
jdbuilder New Reader
8/1/12 5:20 p.m.

subscribed! was honeslty going to do the same thing... hopefully you dont mind if I tag along. Or is that considered hijacking?

skierd
skierd Dork
8/1/12 5:20 p.m.

And if you must go to the track, see if Gingerman Raceway still has week day track days.

But definitely try autocross first, there used to be a decently active region in Western Michigan so there's sure to be an event coming up soon.

D_Howard
D_Howard Reader
8/1/12 5:22 p.m.

JDbuilder of course not, hop on in my man!

Ok cool, so how do I go about getting into autocross as someone who knows nothing about that?

EvanB
EvanB GRM+ Memberand UberDork
8/1/12 5:23 p.m.

See if you can find a Lemons/Chump team near you to hook up with and get some track time?

BoxheadTim
BoxheadTim GRM+ Memberand UberDork
8/1/12 5:24 p.m.