1 2
Grtechguy
Grtechguy MegaDork
11/19/22 5:15 p.m.

Well, you enablers....should I gamble on this bike?

Early model BMW 1100GS.     Sellers says it fires up but dies immediately.

To me, sounds like a plugged vent in the tank.   What do you think?

The fuel pump, Fuel filter, Spark plugs, Spark plug wires, Battery & Fuel injectors were replaced last year.

60K on the clock and full aluminum luggage.

I'm sure I can get it for arround 1500.

Russian Warship, Go Berkeley Yourself
Russian Warship, Go Berkeley Yourself PowerDork
11/19/22 6:43 p.m.

I have an 1150GS, and I don't think you can go wrong at $1500.  

AAZCD-Jon (Forum Supporter)
AAZCD-Jon (Forum Supporter) SuperDork
11/19/22 6:52 p.m.

Yes, I'd gamble $1500. ...and the luggage is probably worth nearly 1/2 of that. I have no personal experience beyond the airhead years, but there's quite a following for the R1100s on the advrider forum.

EvanB
EvanB GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
11/19/22 7:03 p.m.

I'd do that for sure. 

Russian Warship, Go Berkeley Yourself
Russian Warship, Go Berkeley Yourself PowerDork
11/19/22 7:05 p.m.
AAZCD-Jon (Forum Supporter) said:

the luggage is probably worth nearly 1/2 of that. 

The wire wheels should get you nearly the rest of the way to $1500

Grtechguy
Grtechguy MegaDork
11/22/22 8:01 p.m.

Guess I have something new to tinker with

Grtechguy
Grtechguy MegaDork
11/22/22 8:04 p.m.

03Panther
03Panther PowerDork
11/22/22 8:05 p.m.

I'm not a fan of the GS bikes, but that, IMHO, is a heck of a good deal. Glad for ya!

ddavidv
ddavidv UltimaDork
11/22/22 10:49 p.m.

Run it until the final drive splines strip, then part it out. You'll still make money.

03Panther
03Panther PowerDork
11/22/22 11:08 p.m.

In reply to ddavidv :

While I can not, in good conscious, endorse that as a plan, 'tis very true!

BoxheadTim
BoxheadTim GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
11/25/22 12:05 p.m.

Sounds like someone loaded up the parts cannon already, which may or may not be a good sign.