1 2
TJ
TJ HalfDork
11/17/09 10:39 a.m.

Anyone here a farmer? It seems like a perfect match to GRM. You get to work with your hands, tinker with machinery, be your own boss, have a lot of storage space for projects (a barn is almost a garage right?).

I am curious if anyone raises livestock for a primary source of income or as a hobby/tax write-off. I've been thinking about cows and chickens and growing hay. My guess is that farming and GRM do not intersect all that much in reality.

tuna55
tuna55 Reader
11/17/09 10:42 a.m.

I actually long to be a farmer, if that counts. I now am buying local food from farmers, too. Does that count?

I am an engineer - same thing except I have a "boss".

Duke
Duke SuperDork
11/17/09 10:44 a.m.

I grew up in agriculture country and worked a couple summers as a farm laborer for my neighbor, but I never made a living as a farmer myself. Livestock takes a LOT of work and cows are berkeleying STUPID.

A few chickens aren't too much work, but you need a little henhouse and some fence. My father-in-law and his wife keep half a dozen. The eggs are good.

TJ
TJ HalfDork
11/17/09 11:33 a.m.

It seems to me that beef cattle are less work than dairy. Cows need a lot of land. I am not sure if it can be profitable to raise them in a small herd. I'm thinking of something along the lines of 20 head or so. Thinking grassfed as opposed to cornfed.

We get almost all of our veggies from a local farmer as part of a CSA. Thinking about a similar setup for beef/chicken/eggs. I'm guessing the idea of being a farmer is a lot better than being a farmer most days, but I am still dreaming about it.

Duke
Duke SuperDork
11/17/09 11:40 a.m.

The farm I worked on raised black angus beef cattle. Easier than dairy cows because they didn't need to be milked and had a limited lifespan, but still not too easy. That was 500 head or so, mostly grassfed with some corn thrown in over the winter.