1 2
mad_machine
mad_machine GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
9/22/22 9:48 p.m.

saildrone 1078 is manuevering through Hurricane Fiona right now.  

https://www.saildrone.com/press-release/saildrone-video-hurricane-fiona

llysgennad
llysgennad HalfDork
9/22/22 9:53 p.m.

That's really cool. And no, I don't 

Wxdude10 - Mike
Wxdude10 - Mike HalfDork
9/23/22 5:37 a.m.

I have a degree in Meteorology. When I was in school, I wanted to focus on tropical meteorology and fly on the hurricane hunters.  That looks fun and vomit inducing at the same time.   Love it

stuart in mn
stuart in mn MegaDork
9/23/22 8:15 a.m.

I just saw a video clip from that drone on the morning news a minute ago.  I've never heard of a sail drone before but it makes a lot of sense to have one for monitoring storms.

Dusterbd13-michael
Dusterbd13-michael MegaDork
9/23/22 8:30 a.m.

I sailed in a tornado over a freshwater lake in a 16 foot hobicat once. Hell of a ride.

I want to stand on the beach and stare down a hurricane before I die.

RevRico
RevRico GRM+ Memberand UltimaDork
9/23/22 8:41 a.m.

I always thought it would be fun to be on the ocean during a storm on a massive ship, like an aircraft carrier or something that an idiot like me would consider stable. 

tuna55
tuna55 MegaDork
9/23/22 8:43 a.m.

yes. I would absolutely love to.

jharry3
jharry3 GRM+ Memberand Dork
9/23/22 8:57 a.m.

I have worked in the Offshore oil industry for 35 years and I  have seen hurricane video from some of the huge Floating Production Facilities in the Gulf of Mexico.

The lower decks of these are close to 100 feet above the water level. 

In major hurricanes the waves are higher than that deck and there is significant splash of seawater even higher than that.  

mtn
mtn MegaDork
9/23/22 9:13 a.m.

Kyle Stelly on Twitter: ""YOU CALL THIS A STORM?!?" - Lieutenant Dan  http://t.co/j31khsk7nT" / Twitter

02Pilot
02Pilot UberDork
9/23/22 10:07 a.m.