1 2
AClockworkGarage
AClockworkGarage Dork
8/28/24 9:44 p.m.

So I am a machinist at a company that makes... big stuff. I program and run mills. I refuse to do lathe work.

This happened about an hour ago. A hardened chromed 3 inch shaft decided to bend on the tail end, flinging it's support across the shop before beating the lathe to death.

The operator was unharmed.

This was the 9th of these shafts run today, with no problems and not the first time we've run them. 

during it's death throes the machine managed to walk off of it's pads.

So... super fun.

Keep your wits about you. Complacency kills.

AngryCorvair (Forum Supporter)
AngryCorvair (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
8/28/24 9:54 p.m.

Root cause for shaft bending?

NY Nick
NY Nick GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
8/28/24 10:01 p.m.

I bet that's a hell of a video!

I was in the shop when a guy crashed a turret lathe so hard the turret broke off. It was terrifying. Lots of energy in these things. 

AClockworkGarage
AClockworkGarage Dork
8/28/24 10:01 p.m.

We're thinking improper heat treating leaving a softer spot. *shrug*

It's not an abnormally sketchy setup. These parts are done pretty frequently.

The tail end was riding in a support stand like this one.

I pulled rank as the safety guy and sent to operator home. Not as a punishment but after that, I wasn't ready to stick him on another lathe. Go home, relax, we'll see you tomorrow.

Mr_Asa
Mr_Asa MegaDork
8/28/24 10:07 p.m.
AClockworkGarage said:

We're thinking improper heat treating leaving a softer spot. *shrug*

It's not an abnormally sketchy setup. These parts are done pretty frequently.

The tail end was riding in a support stand like this one.

I pulled rank as the safety guy and sent to operator home. Not as a punishment but after that, I wasn't ready to stick him on another lathe. Go home, relax, we'll see you tomorrow.

Good call.  Let him get the willies out of his system away from heavy equipment.