barefootskater
barefootskater New Reader
10/5/17 11:20 a.m.

My latest purchase has bits of magnesium under the hood which has my wife nervous. I know it takes quite a bit of heat to light the stuff, and once it ignites I would need a class D extinguisher to put it out. Class D fire extinguishers are a lot of dollars. My thinking is a good "normal" extinguisher (class a,b,c) would be enough to put out anything that might go up in time to save the magnesium bits.... My only experience with car fires had me wishing that I had something other than a liter of Dr. Pepper to put it out with.

Looking for a relatively small QUALITY extinguisher that I can keep in this car ('84 corvette) for a little peace of mind. I have zero experience with extinguishers and thought I'd ask the hive mind for advice before spending money. 

Thanks

jimbbski
jimbbski Dork
10/5/17 11:37 a.m.

The way to put out a magnesium fire is to cut off the oxygen that allows the fire to burn.  Sand is what is commonly used. That being said  a whole piece of mag does not just burst into flames it takes some other hot fire to set it off. If you put out that fire quickly enough then the mag won't be an issue. Most mag fires occur when the metal is abbraided is some way. Like dragging on the pavement. The small bits that get scraped off can light off and that can get the rest of it going.  Machining mag can be iffy as under the right conditions the cuttings can start to combust.

A dry chemical exting. seems like the best option as far as cost.  Their messy when used but they will do a better job then a CO2 or other liquid or gas exting.

barefootskater
10/5/17 12:33 p.m.

In reply to jimbbski :