1 2
lotusseven7 (Forum Supporter)
lotusseven7 (Forum Supporter) HalfDork
11/5/21 6:45 a.m.

We built our house 7 years ago and opted for a HUGE wood front door. Maybe not the greatest choice, but she likes it so we have it. It was originally stained and sealed(Sikkens), but has faded badly over time. I need to restain and reseal it, but on two of the horizontal surfaces the wood seems to be extremely "dry". I assume it's because that's the spots where moisture can settle and because it faces due east. I've been told that the morning sun is the culprit.

For those who have woodworking or wood finishing experience, is there any product that I can apply to those dry areas to rejuvenate or remoisten the wood? After that I need to restain, then reseal it. I'll ask more questions later. I can build "stuff" out of metal, stone or wood, but when it comes to refinishing wood, I have no experience.

How much the door has faded. Original color on the edge where it seals.

Door where you can see the 2 areas of concern, the horizontal area by the handle and toward the bottom.

Dry area in question.

11GTCS
11GTCS Dork
11/5/21 7:21 a.m.

That's an awesome front door.   Natural front doors and boat brightwork have a lot in common, I have boats with brightwork so here's my experience: